Soups, salads, and sandwiches

Chick Pea Salad

Summer is my favorite time of the year. Feeling the sun on your skin, the smell of freshly cut grass and finally getting off that treadmill and pounding actual pavement … what’s not to love? Another reason I love summer is because since my school-work load is a lot lighter it gives me MUCH more time to experiment with food.

One of my favorite concoctions that I have whipped up is my “Chick Pea Salad Sandwich”. Don’t write this one off of your list quite yet, meat lovers! Although it is a vegetarian sandwich, it is anything but boring!

Here is how to make it:

  • ¼ – ½ cup chick peas
  • 2 tbsp plain greek yogurt
  • Any spices you like! (I am a fan of Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute or just plain mustard)images

All you have to do is mash up the chick peas with a fork and mix it with the greek yogurt. Then, you can add in your seasonings, salt, pepper or whatever you heart desires.

I usually take a whole wheat flat-out wrap and fill it with some spinach before scooping on the chick pea salad. You can eat them like that or grill them if you want a hot sandwich.

Delicious, healthy, and cheap! 1 can of chick peas is about $1, and so if the greek yogurt.  Since you only use about ¼ of each the total comes to about 50 cents per serving… Good deal, right?

Chick peas are a great source of protein and fiber, so eat up!!

Try it out and tell me what you think!!!

One thought on “Chick Pea Salad

Leave a Reply

