Misc.

Longing

As I have said before, summer is my absolute favorite season. One of my ultimate favorite things to do is go strawberry and blueberry picking. Sadly this has yet to happen this year ='[ BUT…strawberries

A giant strawberry. pd-self.
A giant strawberry. pd-self. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

SHOULD be (as long as the weather co-operates…which it better!) open sometime middle of next week. Hooray!!  I can’t wait to make a few large batches of strawberry jam and my favorite blueberry-lemon bread. Now the questions is to find time to do it…working 3 jobs makes that a little rough seeing as I have hardly have time to be outside for any longer than it takes to talk to the car. Oh, the woes of a poor college student!!

On a lighter note, I am working on creating the perfect recipe for black bean burgers. I tried a extremely simple version yesterday of just black beans and bread crumbs (I am thinking I may switch and try oats). It worked fairly well for a starter recipe, however it still needs a lot of work. I think my mission for this summer will be to develop some recipes of my own, I have always wanted to do that. So that will be a fun little project. Any ideas for the burgers? All input is welcomed! I am an onion and garlic lover so those will definitely need to be added into the mix! (my poor breath probably hates me) I will upload a picture of black bean burger #1 later today, so be sure to check back for that!

While I am all nostalgic for fun summer things here is a throw-back (Throwback Thursday anyone???) to last summer of when I went salmon fishing with the parental-units. Caught it with my bare hands!…… gotcha.

What is your favorite thing to do in the summer-time?

One thought on “Longing

  1. I think you’ll be happy with the addition of oatmeal, I’ve had some yummy lentil burgers with oatmeal. Get in here for some seasonings! I’ll be happy to donate some for your cooking experiments!

    Like

Leave a Reply

