Breakfast · Drinkables

Smooth Move

Well, today is day 3 of my “detox”/”rejuvenation” and it has been going just swimmingly! I am starting to feel back to my old self again (i.e. not run-down and yucky feeling). Oh the wonders of good food and a feeling of self centered-ness! (is that even a phrase?… it is now.)

Any-who… This has gotten me into a little smoothie-making frenzy. I have never really been big on them because I always felt like they never filled me up and that I would rather be eating solid foods. However, I most definitely can not say the same now. I have been drinking them for almost every meal. (maybe not the best idea, but I can’t help it.. I am hooked!)

I have already posted the recipe I used for the “Glowing Green Smoothie“, but here is another one that I am actually drinking as I type… and it takes like a little piece of apple pie

 

Apple pie
Apple pie (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

what more could a girl as for at 8 am? Hold onto your seats! Here is the recipe I found for a cinnamon-apple-oatmeal smoothie!

serves 1

  • overnight oats recipe from above
  • 1 t ground cinnamon
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 C ice
  • 1/2 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 T maple syrup
  • 1 apple, diced (refrigerate it first so it’s nice and chilly with the rest of your smoothie ingredients)

Blend!  Slurp.

overnight oats:
serves 1

  • 1/3 C rolled oats
  • 2/3 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 T chia seeds

Mix everything together. Refrigerate overnight.

Mmmm-Mmm Good! You should really give this one a try.. It is a keeper, for sure. Here is a picture of my concoction…doesn’t look as pretty as hers! =[ But I am sure it tastes just the same…Don’t judge a book by its cover, right?!102_1128

I also made an extra large one for lunch with a banana, blackberries, spinach, soy protein powder, almond milk and chia seeds. Om-nom-nom! Since it is a long day today and I won’t be back until around dinner time I also packed carrots, an apple, peach, some red bell pepper, and a big bottle of lavender water.

Cheers to another great day!

Source

http://www.florafoodie.com/2013/03/cinnamon-apple-oatmeal-smoothie.html

Leave a Reply

