Misc. · Poultry

Face-off! “Tofurky” VS “Healthy Ones” Deli Slices

I am all about trying new things. One of the many things I love about food is that there is always something new on the market to test out.

As I have said before, I am not a big meat-eater. Not because of animal rights stuff, but just taste preferences. So, I have been forced to get a little creative with lunch-time sandwiches. I have posted my recipe for Chick Pea Salad, which is delish, but after eating it almost day-in-and-day-out for a year I am pretty sick of it… While I was at the store I came across Tofurky brand Deli slices and decided to give them a shot. I stuck with the classic oven-roasted flavor, but they have others as well.

Tofurky vs healthy ones
Tofurky vs healthy ones

Let’s start with the facts, shall we? First off, tofurky is not only meat-less but also vegan. A serving is 5 slices (3 per box), 100 calories, 25 from fat. Total fat is 3g with no trans or saturated fats. 6g carbohydrates with 3 being dietary fiber and 13g of protein. Sounds pretty good, right? The ingredients list was a little long, but not horrible by any means.

Now for taste. I was not exactly drooling over this product. I could definitely taste the tofu-base more than a I tasted a meat flavor. The meat was a little chewy, kind of like the soft texture of bologna.  Don’t get me wrong, they tasted pretty good! It was just for tofu-y than meat-y, which is what I was looking for.

Overall, I wasn’t in love. The texture is what mostly got me.  However, I think these would be a great option for anyone who is vegan and/or strongly into animal right (or if you like bologna and want to be a little more healthy, these would be prime.)  I thought that it was also really cool how they listed their ingredients as “non-genetically engineered” and the box was made out of 100% recycled cardboard. Plus, they are a family owned & independent company, which is pretty awesome.

I also got “Healthy One’s” brand deli-thin sliced honey smoked turkey.  This meat has no artificial flavors, no added fillers and no artificial colors. I loved this. It is so hard to tell what you are actually eating when something is labeled “meat” sometimes. Also, it is Extra Lean, certified by the american heart association.

The facts: The serving of 6 slices (3.5 per package) contains 60 calories, 15 from fat. Total was is 1.5 g with .5g saturated. 3g total carbohydrates with 3 from sugars and 10 g protein. The ingredients list wasn’t bad, but a tad bit more sodium than the tofurky.

Taste: These slices tasted really fresh, so I was pleased. The honey flavor wasn’t too strong either. All-in-all, I enjoyed them. The texture of these were not chewy at all as compared to the Tofurky.

These would be a great option for meat eaters who are watching their diet and trying to make healthy choices. You could definitely put these in a sandwich or wrap for lunch and not feel like you are sacrificing anything for a healthy swap.

SO. I like the real meat. However they are both nutritionally sound options and if you are a vegetarian or vegan tofurky would be a good meat substitute without tasting like total cardboard.

What is your usual go-to meat for sandwiches?

  • Fun Fact: In sixth grade I BEGGED my parents to buy me bologna for my school lunches. My mom refused, so naturally I went to my father…hehe. He eventually caved (daddy’s girl at it’s finest) and I ate bologna sandwiches for about 3 months straight EVERYDAY!

Remember that story if you ever feel like your habits are too poor to even attempt to change.  Have I ever mentioned that it was not uncommon for me to eat an ENTIRE TWO LAYER CAKE (with frosting) for breakfast? I used to eat horribly… If I can improve my nutrition ( and have more energy, be happier, and have better overall health) ANYONE CAN! If I hadn’t changed my habits I would probably have diabetes right now or be on my way to a heart attack by the time I am 25. Thank goodness for the ability to change!

If you treat your body right, it will treat you well in return.

Here’s to healthy living!!!!

One thought on “Face-off! “Tofurky” VS “Healthy Ones” Deli Slices

Leave a Reply

