Misc.

Ditching The Scale

Three days till FNCE! Who is excited?

Three days of indulging my nerdy side, can’t wait.

As a member of the AND (Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics) I get daily e-mails with numerous links to different articles about everything ranging from the latest fad-diets to new research on different diseases.  I love them. They are such a great way to stay up-to date in the dietetics field.

The other day I had an article in my Daily News that I really liked and thought I might share with you all. The title of it is “Three Steps to Ditching The Scale” Once I saw it, I knew I had to read it.

Basically, the article talks about the HAES (health at every size) model. The focus is on being healthy and feeling good, not on a number on a scale. Which can turn into the formation of unhealthy habits. They address three simple steps on how to ditch the scale habit and start focusing on being healthy and feeling good.usscale-1-1011

The Three Steps

1. Define your reason for using the scale

Here they ask you to think about why you step on the scale. Are you trying to reach a certain weight? Does the number on the scale have an effect on the way you act that day? If the answer is yes, you could be headed down a dangerous path. The number should not dictate your habits. Think about it: If you step on the scale in the morning and see a number a few pounds higher than you’d like, you may be discouraged. This could cause you to be in a crummy mood for the rest of the day and maybe even effect your work. By ditching the scale you will be less stressed, which is something we ALL could use!

2. Redefine your version of healthy

Just because you aren’t weighing yourself doesn’t mean that you stop trying to be healthy. We should focus on non-weight related goals. Want to be more physically active? Start training for a 5-k (Thanksgiving Turkey Trots are coming up!) or even try to get 8 hours of sleep a night. There is SO much more that defines health than a number.

3. Stop weighing yourself and banish weight-related thoughts from your mind

The most difficult! Focus on taking care of yourself in the moment… the only moment you actually have influence over! Get your rest, be physically active, eat nutritious foods. Don’t think about shooting for a goal weight, just make healthy choices. Accept your body as it is! Think of all of the things it does for you and how lucky we are.

I love this. I will admit, I have been a victim of using the scale for often than I should, like most people. I few weeks ago I thought to myself. Why am I doing this? I, at that moment, made an effort to not hop on the scale at the gym. It is such a liberating feeling! I loved how I came across this article. Fate? Debatable.

So.. Who is with me? Who is ready to take the challenge of ditching the scale???

Source

http://www.nydailynews.com/life-style/health/steps-ditching-scale-article-1.1483148

Leave a Reply

