Breakfast

Guilt-Free French Toast

I am finally beginning to realize that Winter is just around the corner. This makes me pretty sad considering I am not a fan of 1.) anything below 80 degrees and 2.) any form of precipitation. Bummer, right?

I would like to make an announcement.

  I am very honored to have been approached by the selection committee and be invited to be a speaker at the Michigan Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics annual spring conference on the subject of blogging. The conference will be held on April 30 & May 1, 2014 at the Doubletree Hotel & Conference Center in Bay City, Michigan. Wish me luck!

image

My favorite kind of food is breakfast food. I am sure a lot of you can probably relate. What I don’t like about it is how unhealthy it can be. This morning I was craving some fluffy french toast so I took it upon myself to create a healthier version.  Here is my recipe:

French Toast(Sans Guilt!!)

Ingredients

  • 3 slices whole wheat bread
  • 1-2 eggs (1 whole egg or 2 egg whites)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • A dash of cinnamon
  • A splash of vanilla (optional)

Instructions

First, heat your skillet and coat it with non-stick cooking spray. Next, whisk eggs, milk, cinnamon and vanilla  together in a pan, such as an 8 x 8 baking pan, or you can use a shallow bowl. Soak each slice of bread in the mixture until it is fully saturated. Lay the soaked bread in the hot skillet and cook for about 3 minutes on each side. (Times can vary depending on the pan and stove used)

image

Top french toast with whatever your heart desires. Ideas: Natural fruit preserves, maple syrup, honey, etc. etc.

And there you have it. French toast without the grease and guilt! It was a great way to start off hump day. Half way until the weekend!!

Leave a Reply

