Entree · Recipe Makover

White Pizza

Happy Monday, everyone! I hope the week started off well for you.

While I was out running errands today I got this strong craving for pizza. So, I picked up some ingredients to make one.  I used mushrooms, chicken, spinach and basil as toppings, but you can use whatever toppings are your favorite. I think artichokes would have been a good addition. But, then again, I think artichokes are a good addition to almost anything…

image

White Pizza Recipe

(Adapted from Rachel Ray’s version in 30 Minute Meals)

Ingredients

2 Whole Wheat Pizza Crusts
1 15oz container of low-fat ricotta cheese
about 1/2 – 1 tbsp Olive Oil
2-3 tbsp dried parsley (you can also use fresh, but I didn’t have any on hand)
3 tbsp minced garlic
3-4 cups low fat or fat free shredded mozzarella cheese
salt and pepper to taste
Toppings of your choice

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Drizzle the pizza crusts with olive oil. Combine ricotta, parsley, garlic, salt and pepper together in a medium sized bowl. Spread the mixture evenly onto both pizza crusts. Take whatever toppings you have decided to use and place them on the crust. Next you will want to sprinkle the mozzarella cheese over your toppings (Doing this last will keep your toppings in place as the cheese melts. No one likes pizzas where the toppings are falling off!)

It doesn’t get more simple than that! From start to finish it was about 30 minutes (Rachel was right!)

image

What toppings will you try on your pizza?

I am dying to try a nectarine pizza. Sounds crazy, I know, but I have seen them popping up every when I am on recipe hunts and they look delish!

Leave a Reply

