Breads & Muffins · Uncategorized

Choco-Walnut Banana Bread

T-minus 2 days! I hope you have your Christmas shopping finished, that would make one of us… In my defense, before you go thinking I am a thoughtless person, I at least know what I am getting! It is just the act of going out and getting it that needs to be done… The roads have been so bad here lately I just have not been in the mood to drive around.

I had two lonely, brown bananas sitting on my counter today (See, whenever I get bananas I overestimate my ability to eat them fast enough, which is why this scenario happens a lot) so obviously I HAD to bake =] No complaints here.  Typically, I would make my Grandmother’s banana bread recipe. It is the best, no-fail recipe that everyone is sure to love. The only problem is that it is filled with sugar and butter. Since we have SO many sugary sweets and baked goods coming through the door due to the holiday season, I decided that I might try out a healthier version.

Walnut-Bourbon Banana Bread - recipe

I would like to note that this recipe has gotten the Bob Kokx Seal of Approval. While he is pretty physically fit for an old(er) guy,he is not what you’d call a “health nut” in the nutritional department by any means. He is wholeheartedly a meat-and-potatoes kind of man. Thin crust pizza? No way. “Light” versions of dishes? Give him the real thing. However, I am happy to say that he actually gave this recipe a thumbs up! (Note: When he tried one of my last experimental recipes that I told him I made up he said “Tastes like it…hehehe“. Thanks Dad, love you too)

Choco-Walnut Banana Bread

Ingredients

2 Mashed Bananas
1 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup sweetener of you choice (stevia, sugar, splenda, honey, etc)
1 dash
1 tsp baking powder
1 large egg
2 tbsp nonfat milk
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
1/4 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and spray one loaf pan with non-stick spray. Combine all ingredients but the flour into a medium sized bowl. Add the flour to the mixture. Once your batter is lump-free go ahead and add the walnuts and chocolate chips. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for about 35 minutes, or until the loaf is golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean. Let the bread cool before slicing it with a serrated knife.

A slice of this bread along with some greek yogurt would make a great breakfast or just atasty little snack!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

