Entree · Fish & seafood

Seafood Special: Garlic Shrimp in a White Wine Reduction

I love seafood. I could eat it for every meal and be perfectly happy. (Yes, even breakfast.. it’s not THAT odd, is it?…)

Here are 14 reasons why you should make a point to eat seafood

1. Great source of high quality protein

2. Good source of iron

3. Low in fat

4. Low in cholesterol

5. Powerhouse source for vitamins & minerals (magnesium, phosphorus, Vitamins A,D and B12  to name a few)

6. Promotes normal fetal growth and child development

The high amount of omega-3 fatty acids helps prevent and treat… *deep breath*

7. heart disease

8. high blood pressure

9. inflammation

10. mental health disorders

11. diabetes

12. digestive disorders

13. autoimmune disease

14. cancer

(Buying seafood can be tricky, so be sure you read the labels before purchasing. Look for sustainable agricultural practices and where the fish is from)

I find that it can be too easy to get into a recipe rut when it comes to seafood (Cooking salmon the same way, only eating shrimp with cocktail sauce, etc) Here is a simple recipe (but yet sounds impressive) to get your out of your rut! Not in one? Give it a try anyway!

Garlic Shrimp in a White Wine Reduction

009 010

(Note: this recipe is scaled for one, you will need to adjust it for the number of servings you will need)

Ingredients

about 1 tbsp olive oil (I used a Tuscan herb infused and it really amped up the flavor)

6-9 shrimp

1/2 cup white wine (whatever you happen to have on hand)

1 tsp chopped garlic

1-2 tsp butter

Splash of lemon juice

Salt

Pepper

First, heat a skillet drizzled with the olive oil on the stove top. Add your shrimp and saute for 2-3 minutes or until they are a little golden and have soaked in the flavor. Remove ONLY the shrimp (leave the oil in the pan). Add the white wine and simmer until it is reduced to about 1/2 the amount you started with (I would say this took me about 10 minutes) Next, add the garlic, butter, lemon juice, salt and pepper to the wine. Once that is all combined and looks uniform go ahead and add the shrimp back into the pan and coat them with the reduction. I served my shrimp on a bed of carrot noodles (Peel carrots into fine strips with a vegetable peeler and steam for about 10 minutes) There are not a lot of ingredients to this recipe so you may think it will be bland, but that is the farthest thing from the truth! I was really pleased with the amount of flavor that the wine brought. Paired with the olive oil and garlic it was heaven for my taste buds. Also, if you haven’t tried carrot noodles (you can also use other veggies such as zucchini) I strongly suggest you try it! It really was just like I was eating pasta. Divine. I had never made a wine reduction but I am really happy that I gave it a try. It was super simple. Don’t let the sound of it scare you away! Side note: I realize I have been talking about alcohol a lot lately. Which is kind of silly considering I hardly consume it, except on special occasions. Odd for a college student I know, but then you have to remember that I am basically an 80 year old in a 21 year old’s body…

Last, but certainly not least I have an announcement….

I am beyond happy to say that I been accepted into the Michigan State University Dietetic Internship Program for 2014- 2015. It is crazy to actually see my hard work finally paying off and realize that I am one step closer to becoming a registered dietitian. Thank you to everyone for the love and support! Sources http://www.boxingscene.com/nutrition/47592.php http://chge.med.harvard.edu/topic/seafood-health-benefits-risks http://www.seafish.org/eating-seafood/seafood-for-health/health-benefits http://www.med.umich.edu/umim/food-pyramid/fish.htm http://www.nrdc.org/oceans/seafoodguide/

One thought on “Seafood Special: Garlic Shrimp in a White Wine Reduction

Leave a Reply

