Soups, salads, and sandwiches · Under 100 calories · Vegetable · Vegetarian

Cream of Asparagus Soup

The past few nights months I have been having a little bit of insomnia. Today I woke up at about 4:45 am and tried so hard to fall back asleep… it didn’t work. At about 5:30 I gave up and headed to the kitchen.

Originally, today I was going to make a sweet potato-apple casserole, but once I woke up I knew that had to change. I mean, that dish just screams winter comfort food… Since I am BEYOND sick of winter and am dying for warmer temps, I went straight to my “Simply In Season” cookbook and flipped right to the “Spring” section. (This book is really cool. It focuses on using local, fresh ingredients and is separated into seasons and the recipes reflect what ingredients are “in season” during that time).

Yesterday when I was at the grocery store I saw asparagus on sale and got so excited. I stopped myself from buying any at the time though because I wanted to have a recipe in mind before I bought any. (Sometimes my eyes and imagination are a lot more ambitious than my free time allows) As I flipped through the bright green pages of the spring section I came across a recipe for asparagus soup. Check and mate.

At about 6:30 I headed out to the store for my ingredients. Let me tell you, I need to start doing my shopping at that time every week. There was hardly anyone there! It was great.

IMG_0132

I was really happy with how the soup turned out. I adapted the recipe and made changes to my liking as I made it. It tasted like spring in a bowl, just what I was hoping for. Typically, creamy soups are high in calories and loaded with fat. This one is different because you use non-fat dry milk to give it the creamy-ness. Score.

IMG_0137

Cream of Asparagus Soup

(Adapted from Simply in Season’s Asparagus Soup)

                Yield: 8 cups

1 lb asparagus
4 cups reserved broth
1 medium potato (white), chopped
½ cup chopped onion
3 stalks celery, chopped
1 cup non-fat dry milk powder
2 tbsp flour
Salt and pepper to taste

Heat a large stock pot with water until boiling. Cut the ends off of the asparagus and blanch them in the boiling water (this only take a few minutes, the colors will get REAL bright. So beautiful.) Drain and rinse the asparagus, reserving the water (broth) for later use. Chop asparagus spears and add them back into the pot along with 2 cups broth, potato, onion and celery. Cook on medium heat for about 20 minutes or until soft. Remove from heat and cool. Pour the contents of the pot into a blender and puree until smooth (this took me to 2 batches to get it all blended, it didn’t all fit in one), return to the pot. Now use the blender to blend the remaining 2 cups broth, dry milk, flour and salt and pepper. Once blended add to the asparagus puree and cook over medium heat until slightly thickened.

Optional: Before portioning soup place a dollop of plain non-fat Greek yogurt into the bowl. This is amp-up the creamy texture even more.

asparagus nutrition info

(Nutrition info is per cup)

You could easily make a double batch and freeze some to have on hand for later. Perfect. I know I will for sure be doing this.

What ingredients are you looking forward to using as the seasons change?

Leave a Reply

