Breakfast · Drinkables · Uncategorized · Under 200 calories · Vegan · Vegetarian

All Natural Energy Drink: Green Tea Chia Zing

As I have confessed multiple times, I am a caffeine addict. I am not proud of it, but it is the truth. (Hey, we all have down-falls, right?)I have been doing my best to cut back on my caffeine intake, but I refuse to give up my morning coffee! Sorry, but I just can’t part with it. I have compromised with myself to drink mostly decaffeinated beverages after my morning cup(s) of joe, but sometimes, you just need a little pick-me-up. I wanted an alternative to the commercial “energy drinks” that are filled with God-knows-what. As a result I came up with this little concoction. It will give you all-natural energy, keep you hydrated, provide you with tons of nutrients (fiber, protein, calcium, magnesium, iron, copper, zinc to name a few), and taste delicious.

IMG_0194

Green Tea-Chia Zing
Yield: 16 oz (2 cups)

Ingredients

2 Cups hot water
1 Green tea bag
1/2 Orange
1 ½ Tbsp Chia seeds

First, let the green tea bag steep in the water for 3-5 minutes. Remove the tea bag and refrigerate until chilled. Squeeze the juice from the orange into the chilled green tea. Stir in chia seeds.

A simple, natural, delicious pick-me-up. I would suggest putting your zing in a container with a lid. The chia seeds will settle and you may need to give it a little shake of revival.

Here’s the nutrition info

 Nutrition

Check out this glorious photo I took on my walk home from class yesterday. Spring really is coming!!!! Yahoo

IMG_0187

Leave a Reply

