Breakfast · Soups, salads, and sandwiches · Uncategorized · Under 100 calories · Vegetarian

Minty Melon With A Honey-Lime Glaze

Two weeks.

Two weeks and I will be done with my undergraduate career. I will miss some aspects of college like the campus, being able to walk everywhere and the ability to plan my day around no one else’s schedule but my own, but for the most part I am pretty darn ready to be done. Bring on the next chapter!

I can’t wait to be able to put more time into blogging. I have some HUGE plans and can’t wait to get the process moving! Stay tuned =]

Anywho, the other day it was just gorgeous out and I decided to take a walk. Where did I go? To the little grocery store (naturally) a few miles away. I had this recipe in mind for a while and thought that it captured the essence of spring quite nicely, so there was not time like the present to give it a go.

Sweet, refreshing, and super simple. If this recipe doesn’t get you excited for spring I don’t know what will!

IMG_0232

Minty Melon with a Honey-Lime Glaze

Yield: about 8, ½ cup servings

Ingredients

1 cantaloupe melon
½ cup fresh mint, chopped
½ cup honey
1 Lime, juiced

 

(Here is a little info on how to pick and cut a cantaloupe.)

Clean and dice your cantaloupe. Toss the cubed melon with the mint. Set aside.

In a separate bowl combine honey and lime juice. Mix thoroughly. If the glaze becomes too liquidy, add more honey. You want there to be a little thickness to it so that it sticks to the surface of the melon rather than slide right off.

Drizzle the glaze over the mint-cantaloupe mixture and toss until it is coated evenly.

Add a sprig of mint and a fresh drizzle of honey before serving.

IMG_0234

Nutrition Info (based on a ½ cup serving)

 nutrition facts

 

Scrumptious.

The honey-lime glaze could be used on almost any fruit. Pour over your favorite fruit salad combo to turn it into an even sweeter dessert!

Leave a Reply

