Sweet Treats · Under 200 calories

Oatmeal Cream Pies

Morning Sunshine’s!

It isn’t even 8 am yet, but I can tell that today is going to be a good day. You know how in the movies the characters spring out of bed, run down to grab a cup of joe with the fam before moseying off to work? Well, typically I would say “Fat chance!” to that scenario, but today is one of the rare days that this actually happened to me.

So, like I said, today is going to be a good dayWhether it likes it or not! I’ve decided nothing will bring me down today… End of story =]

Since I am feel exceptionally chipper on this Thursday morning I felt that it was the PERFECT time to share with you a recipe that I have been itching to. It’s gotten rave reviews.

As I have mentioned many times, when I was little, I had HORRIBLE eating habits. Luckily, my parents didn’t really let my preferences for eating solely sugar slide. I remember always begging them to buy me the Little Debbie oatmeal cream pies. I got a taste of them when I was at a friend’s house a few times and it was love at first bite. However, I couldn’t get my fix under my own roof (I sound like a cream pie addict…. Whatever…) You get the point, I loved them.

Anywhooo, enough memory lane, I have always wanted to do an Oatmeal Cream Pie re-do. Take my childhood favorite and find a way to use wholesome ingredients that adults anyone can nosh on without feeling like they are eating a brick of sugar.

100_1756

My efforts have paid off! Ol’ Bob-o has been raving about them. Little does he know ,that isn’t yo’ mama’s butter cream in the middle… it’s Greek Yogurt! I just love being sneaky.

Something funny: When I made the fiber & protein brownies a few weeks back I didn’t tell him that the basis of them was beans… He didn’t pick up on it when he was eating them either. When I can back home a week later to put in some more hours at the hospital there was only one left. Muahahaha. Point for team Colleen.

Okay, okay I am done babbling… The moment you have all been waiting for…. The Goods.

Oatmeal Cream Pies

Yield: 13 cream pies

Ingredients

For the cookies
1/4 cup applesauce
2 Tbsp. butter
1/3 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 ¼ tsp. cinnamon
1 cup quick cooking oats

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Beat together applesauce, butter and sugar. Beat in egg and vanilla. In a separate bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Add flour mixture into wet mixture and mix well. Stir in oats. Drop by rounded tablespoon 2 inches apart on a cookie sheet and press them down slightly. Bake 10-12 minutes.

For the cream filling
1 cup plain, non-fat greek yogurt
½ powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp sugar free instant vanilla pudding mix

Carefully fold all of the ingredients together until they are well mixed. Refrigerate for ½ hour.

Once the cookies are cooled and the filling is set you can start assembling them. First, fill either a pastry bag or a zip lock back with the filling. If you are using a zip lock bag simple snip off the end and you have a DIY pastry bag. Score. Now, pipe about 1 ½-2 tbsp of the filling onto a cookie. Top with another cookie. Repeat this process for the remaining cookies.

100_1755

Totally simple, totally delicious, and totally (mostly) healthy.

Nutrition info per serving (1 pie: 2 cookies + filling)

Nutrition Info

 

Alert, Alert! We’ve got a keeper! File this recipe away. Trust me, you’ll want to!

Now, I am going to go off and have myself the good day I have in mind. Who’s with me?!

 

Leave a Reply

