Soups, salads, and sandwiches · Under 100 calories · Vegetarian

Rhubarb Poppy Seed Salad Dressing

Guess what season it is?! If you said spring, well, I guess you are right, but that’s not exactly what I had in mind… RHUBARB SEASON! A.k.a. Colleen’s favorite time of the year. Rhubarb crumble, rhubarb bread, rhubarb jam, etc. I love it all. This year I am doing a lot of experimenting with it, straying away from my usual go-to rhubarb recipes.

I had a few stalks in the fridge that were about to go bad (One down fall of my favorite ingredient: you have to use it pretty quickly)and needed to make something ASAP. It was super hot and I didn’t want to turn on the oven (this kinda puts a damper on baking during the summer =[ ). After a little thinking I decided to try a rhubarb salad dressing. Guess what? I now have a new favorite dressing. It has the tang of rhubarb and vinegar yet is sweetened with a hint of orange flavor. The perfect pair.

IMG_0391

I also LOVE that this dressing is creamy, yet not loaded with fat. SCOREEEE.

[gmc_recipe 1969]

I think this recipe would be great in a strawberry or raspberry variety too. Or heck, why not even blueberry? Take your pick. If you tried another berry I may suggest switching the OJ to lemon juice. It might pair a little better with it.

IMG_0397

Give this one a try and let me know what you think!

Nutrition info per 2 tbsp (Recipe makes about 2 cups)

Nutrition Info 2 tbsp

