Cakes & Cookies · Sweet Treats · Uncategorized · Under 400 calories

Oozing Blueberry Pie

It is officially my favorite time of the year. Summer? No, that’s old news. I am talking about BLUEBERRY SEASON! I have been going blueberry picking every year for as long as I can remember. It is my all-time favorite thing to do, hands down. There is an orchard about 3 miles from my house and they opened for U-Pick this week. On the first day that I had off of work I got on my little bicycle and went a-pickin’. It was glorious. The berries were GREAT. Maybe it has been how much rain we’ve had lately, or maybe it’s just good luck, but they were large and juicy. Mmmmm. I ended up with 5 lbs.. Needless to say, I have been eating berries at literally every meal. Blueberry pie oatmeal, blueberry chicken salads, blueberry pancakes, blueberry Greek yogurt parfait… etc. etc. etc. But I am lovin’ it.

For my first blueberry recipe of the season I wanted to make a classic. What’s more classic that an ooey, gooey, blueberry pie? Nothing. That’s what.

IMG_0445

[gmc_recipe 2075]

Nutrition Info per 1/8th pie

Nutrition per 8th pie

I made the pie in the morning right after I got home from the orchard. I may or may not have went at 8 am right when they opened… and I may or may not have picked 5 lbs in about 20 minutes… I was on a mission, okay? Anywho, so I cranked out the pie at about 9 am. It was pretty difficult to restrain myself all day from diving into it, but I wanted to share it with the fam for a nice dessert after dinner. With a little will-power I made it to dinner. Whew! It was a close one. (Okay…so MAYBE I picked a few of the oozing berries off the top…but I had to make sure it was tasty, right? Right. Sure.)

The crust is flaky and the berries were sweet and gooey. This pie is a winner. Except.. my lattice crust could use a little work… I guess another pie is in order to practice!!!

Now, is this pie packed with super healthy-ness? No. It is going to hinder a healthy diet? Certainly not. It is simply a very delicious way to enjoy the bounties of the summer season! Sit back, relax, and enjoy a piece of pie during this gloriously beautiful season.

Toodles!

