Entree · Poultry · Protein · Uncategorized · Under 300 calories

Grilled Chicken With Blueberry-Basil Salsa

Hi friends,

I finally ran out of blueberries, such a sad day it was. But no worries, I went picking again yesterday =] This time we headed out toward the lake shore. My goodness does that make a difference! I love the local orchard because it is so convenient and it has always kind of been my little escape from the city (sentimental value) but the berries are just giant and gushing when they are grown further out. We were headed out that way to go see a Beatles Tribute Concert at the Grand Haven, MI Coastguard Festival. Okay, laugh all you want about how I sound like a 60 year old woman… but it was really cool! Here is who we saw: http://www.toppermost.info/ Preeeetty cool. (ha.ha.)

Back to food.

What caused me to run out of blueberries (okay maybe not the cause…that was my snacking… but what used them up) was this delicious dinner dish: Grilled chicken with blueberry-basil salsa(Adapted from good ol’ Martha Stewart). My favorite part of this recipe- besides the blueberry goodness- was that it was SO quick to make! I was done in about 30 minutes. Can’t beat that!

IMG_0452

 

Hey, Rachel Ray? You can go ahead and use this in your next “30 Minute Meals” book. It’s alright 😉

IMG_0450

[gmc_recipe 2103]

Nutrition info per 1/4th recipe

Nutrition info per one fourth

I also grilled up some kale (which is what the chicken is sitting on) for a little extra veggie-ness.

Since I have more blueberries, guess what? You guys have more blueberry recipes to look forward to! If you don’t like blueberries… well… I can’t help you there. Just kidding! But that’s seriously unfortunate.

Have a fantastical Friday and an even better weekend. It’s AugustToodles!

Oh! PS!! We put my childhood dog down about 2 years ago. He was a 120lb loveable yellow lab named Arby. (my sister ran over a smashed Arby’s cup while we were thinking of names and that’s how it came to be…) Anywho, today was his birthday. He would have been 14. Happy Birthday to my “little brother”!

arby

