Breakfast

Chia Seed Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats

It’s officially fall… Why? Because I wore a jacket to work this morning. Hang on a sec while I wipe away my tears.

It’s a known fact I dislike any temperature below 80 degrees. HOWEVER, I am excited for fall food (naturally). I am pretty sure that Joe has been saying he wants to make chili since July… He’s got a little bit more gusto about fall than I do.
To get myself more in the fall spirit I bought three cans of pumpkin puree… Overboard? Maybe. Do I care? Nope.

First up for my pumpkin creations: Chia Seed Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats. I eat overnight oats on the daily, so it’s only fitting that I do this first.

Lots of keep-you-full fiber, healthy Omega-3’s. If you are unfamiliar with Chia seeds, check out this post by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

graphic

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup oats (I use a mix of quick & rolled oats)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cashew milk
  • 3 tbsp Sugar-free maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1-2 tsp Chia seeds

Directions

  • Mix together oats, milk, syrup, vanilla and cinnamon.
  • Layer 1/2 oat mixture, 1/2 pumpkin, 1/2 chia seeds. Repeat.
  • Store in the refrigerator overnight

Nutrition Information: 260 calories, 4.5g fat, 8g protein, 50g carbohydrates, 9g dietary fiber

I eat these both cold and warmed a touch, it really depends on how cold the office is that day..

Pair oatmeal with a low-fat (lactose free for me)  yogurt for a nice well-rounded breakfast.

Have an idea for a pumpkin recipe you’d like to see? Just holler.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

