Sweet Treats · Under 200 calories

Baked Pumpkin Donuts

On Saturday I went to an Apple Orchard and right when I walked into their little barn store it was like I hit a wall: A wall of sugary, fried, pumpkin-y goodness.

I am pretty sure it isn’t truly fall until you have had this experience. And you sure wouldn’t want to make it to winter without it.

As a dietitian, I am all about a balanced diet- and that means treating yourself to a less-than-healthy treat now and again, I mean really.. Live a little!

I will also say, that as a dietitian, dessert is a staple in my household. I don’t have a sweet tooth.. I think all of my teeth are sweet teeth.

I don’t deprive myself, so I allow myself a little treat     Every.    Single.    Evening.  YUP. You heard right, I have dessert every day. No shame. No, it isn’t always a giant slice of cake, but more like a meringue cookie, glass of hot cocoa, or a shared piece of my most recent baked good.

Well, most days. Some days if I have a big dinner I won’t feel the need, however this is the exception, not the rule.

My trip to the orchard made me want to give a baked pumpkin donut recipe a try, so that’s what I did. AND… They turned out fabulous. Nice and cakey. They even got the Joe Stamp Of Approval. (He can be brutally honest when it comes to my food… which is why I love him)

bakeddonuts-cover

Even Theo was wanting some…

donutstheo

So, here you go. Give them a try and tell me what you think!

Baked Pumpkin Donuts

Yield: 8 Donuts

ingredients

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup Unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 Egg + 1 egg white
  • ½ cup Pumpkin puree
  • ¼ cup Light sour cream
  • ¾ cup Stevia
  • ½ tsp Cinnamon
  • ¼ heaping tsp Nutmeg
  • ½ tsp Baking powder
  • 1 tsp Baking soda
  • 1 cup Flour
  • ¼ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp Cinnamon

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease donut pan.
  • Combine first nine ingredients (until flour) in a bowl and mix well.
  • Add flour, mixing until combined and lump-free.
  • Pour batter into donut pan. (Most donut pans have 6 wells, reserve batter for 2 more)
  • Bake for about 15 minutes, or until golden and a toothpick comes out clean.
  • Allow donuts to cool slightly. Meanwhile, combine ¼ cup sugar and remaining 1 tbsp cinnamon in a plastic zip-lock bag.
  • While donuts are warm, not hot, place them in the bag of cinnamon sugar to coat.
  • Donuts are best served immediately.

Nutrition Information Per Donut: 120 calories, 1.3g fat, 2.7g protein, 23.3g carbohydrate

A couple of tips

  • A few of my donuts had trouble with the sugar coating sticking, so I simply misted them with non-stick spray first and it worked like a charm.
  • If you don’t plan on eating these right away, you could make the donuts ahead of time and NOT coat them. When you are ready to eat them nuke them for a few seconds until they are warm and then coat them. (otherwise the sugar coating will dissolve if it sits too long- no bueno)

naked-donuts

 Naked donuts still lookin’ delish.

Delicious and only 120 calories? Say it isn’t so!

Go ahead and have dessert tonight. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

