Cakes & Cookies · Snack · Sweet Treats · Under 100 calories

Frosted Chocolate Snack Cake

Chocolate is something you just can’t deny yourself. It’s just wrong. And I will admit that I have been not denying myself like I mad woman all week. Stress, fatigue, it all lead me to the community candy jars at work, usually a good ol’ Charleston Chew does the trick. But when it “does the trick” a few times a day, I can’t help but think I could be fueling my body with a little more nutrients.

practice-1

I am all about incorporating sweets into your daily diet without having to feel guilty about it, so I took advantage of this weekend and spent a little time in the kitchen working on this recipe. 

It gives you the indulgent chocolate taste you want, but doesn’t weight you down. Fantastic.

3

I will admit it isn’t the same as your grandma’s ooey gooey, butter loaded brownies, but is a very good alternative when a chocolate craving hits instead of devouring a snickers. I would equate it to a fiber one brownie— you can tell its healthier, but more than does the trick. Plus, my favorite part… these pieces are pretty darn large, dare I say about TWICE the size of a fiber one brownie. The more the merrier indeed!

practice

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup pureed butternut squash (may also sub pumpkin)
  • 2/3 container 100cal greek yogurt (vanilla, pumpkin, or chocolate suggested)
  • 1 Egg + 1 egg white
  • 1/2 cup stevia
  • 1 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup milk (I used cashew)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

For The Frosting

  • 1/3 container 100cal greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp powdered sugar

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease an 8×8 baking pan
  2. Combine squash, yogurt, and eggs in a bowl. Add in remaining ingredients.
  3. Pour batter into prepared baking dish. Sprinkle batter with chocolate chips.
  4. Bake for 25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean
  5. Allow to cool.
  6. While cake is cooling, combine frosting ingredients and mix well. (This can be done right in the yogurt container)
  7. Once cake is cooled, frost and cut into 9 slices.

4

Now time to round out the weekend with a trip to the dog park with my boys and some pumpkin carving. Will the carving have something to do with Theo? I would say the chances are pretty good… I just can’t NOT be obsessed with this cute guy.

img_2303

Leave a Reply

