Entree · Poultry · Under 400 calories

Blackened Chicken Tacos With Apple Slaw

Like most people I know, I am a big fan of the tacos. Delish, a cinch to make, and so easy to change up.

I have really been wanting a taco stand- Just because I do, okay? I was in manic craft mode on Tuesday (all hail the day best day of the week! i.e. my day off) I finished our Halloween costumes, worked on a few DIY gifts, and baked a cake. Somewhere in between those things I thought I could be super woman and make my own taco stand. I can hardly re-tell this story without laughing… I did see a super cool tutorial here.   So, I went to home depot to get the drawer pulls that are needed (strange, but yes) and saw they were like 5 bucks a pop. I laughed, went over to the wood section and got myself what was basically a wooden stick for 90 cents…. I really can’t tell you what I did, because I haven’t got a clue. But a lot of gorilla glue and sawing was involved (Someone really should have stopped me when I bought that thing.. Saw ALL of the things!)

Long story short, I finessed one to use, which fell apart right after these pictures. Don’t worry, no gorilla glue was used for the final one and it definitely didn’t touch any food.

I will be 1. looking for some inexpensive drawer pulls, or 2. asking for an actual for Christmas.

God damn I am Dutch.

insta

Bless Joe for tolerating all of my crazy.

For dinner we ended up with these Blackened Chicken Tacos with Apple Slaw. Such a light and refreshing meal. I feel the need to incorporate apples into everything since they are so cheap (I repeat: God damn, I am Dutch)

1

The tacos turned out much better than the taco stand, rest assured.

Blackened Chicken Tacos with Apple Slaw

Yield: 2, 3 taco servings

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cup coleslaw slaw mix
  • 2 tbsp fat-free mayo
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp lime juice
  • 1 tsp lime zest
  • ½ small apple
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 chicken breasts (~1/2 lb total)
  • ~1 tbsp blackening seasoning*
  • 6 corn tortillas

Directions

  1. Combine mayo, vinegar, lime juice, and zest in a small bowl. Add to slaw, coating evenly. Cover and let sit in fridge for at least 1 hour.
  2. Heat stove top grill. Season raw chicken with blackening seasoning. Grill for ~4 minutes on one side and 2-3 on the other.
  3. Slice chicken and assemble tacos as follows: 1 corn tortilla, a few slices of chicken, ~1/4 cup of slaw. Serve.

 

2

Nutrition Information Per 3 taco serving: 326 calories, 3.075g fat, 27.13g protein, 43.75g carbohydrate

*For the blackening seasoning, I usually make my own mix of 1 tbsp each of the following: Paprika, garlic powder, chili powder, cumin, salt and pepper to taste

Be sure to plan ahead and let the slaw sit- it makes a difference! It still tastes good just after it is made (of course I couldn’t help but taste it right away, but even better after sitting)

More apple recipes to come- I just can’t help myself.

Leave a Reply

