Cakes & Cookies · Protein · Sweet Treats · Under 200 calories

Chocolate Peanut Protein Cookies

Ladies (and gentleman) who lift: Are you hungry ALL the time??

Since I have been doing more weights I am constantly hungry. I knew this would happen, but holy moly! As a dietitian I know that when trying to build muscle timing and composition of what you eat is key.

I workout after work, before dinner, then eat a decently large meal of protein, complex carbs, etc. I am for sure full at the end, but a couple hours later I am famished. This is typically when I have some of whatever baked good I have lying around or ice cream, but that just hasn’t been cutting it.

1

If I don’t have a substantial snack before bed I wake up at 1am feeling like I am on Survivor- starved. The other night this happened and I fell UP the stairs and into the window blinds. Let me tell you, those things are a weapon! I had cuts all over my hands… On top of that- I ate ice cream and some nondistinct pumpkin-y thing- when hanger takes over, food choices are less than optimal.

Enter this recipe.

I am not a big fan of protein powder. I SURE am not a fan of just drinking it- that is so insanely boring and for the most part disgusting. I like to enjoy my food- not chug it. I think that it is always best to get protein from real, whole foods. But, I do know that there can be a time and a place for it.

Whole grains, protein, and chocolate.

Yes, yes, and YES.

insta

Each cookie has 140 calories at 9.3g protein.

Chocolate Peanut Protein Cookies

Yield: 8 very large cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Old fashioned oats
  • ¼ cup flour
  • ¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 5 scoops protein powder (I used Vanilla Aria Women’s Protein)
  • ¼ cup stevia
  • 3 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 4 egg whites
  • ½ cup applesauce
  • ¼ cup dry roasted unsalted peanuts, chopped

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare baking sheet by lightly spraying with cooking spray.
  2. Combine oats, flour, cocoa powder, protein powder, stevia, sugar and baking powder in a bowl.
  3. Add in wet ingredients- egg whites and applesauce. Mixing until evenly moistened.
  4. Mix in ¾ of the peanuts. Reserving ¼ to top cookies.
  5. Scoop 8 cookies from batter, these will be about ¼ cup each.
  6. Sprinkle reserved ¼ peanuts on top of cookies.
  7. Bake for 8 minutes.
  8. Allow to cool.

Nutrition Information Per Cookie: 140 calories, 2.9g fat, 19.5g carbohydrates, 9.3g protein

2

I think these would make a delish ice cream sandwich- because I think everything is better with ice cream… You could use Halo Top, high-protein ice cream. Joe and I recently tried this- Delish, but expensive =( and not lactose free, but who am I kidding, that hardly stops me…

The protein and whole grains in these cookies really help to hold me over till morning.

I had 2 last night and woke up ready for my morning run.

Nutrition really does matter people!

Leave a Reply

