Entree · Poultry · Under 500 calories

Chicken-Bacon Pasta With Roasted Veggies & A White Wine Sauce

Like most girls in their mid-twenties, I love wine, and I am a firm believer it’s pretty much always the answer.

Bad day? Glass of wine. Celebrating? Glass of wine. Alive? Glass of wine.

Call me “basic”, I really don’t care, I just love wine.

Like I said, wine is always the answer, and that holds true to recipes too.

Brace yourselves for the recipe I am about to share with you.

Not only is it pasta covered in wine, it has chicken… and bacon.. and cheese… and roasted tomatoes.

If you aren’t salivating I might have to questions our friendship right now. Just kidding (kind of).

Now, as I am sure you know by now, I am lactose intolerant- or so my body tells me. I choose to pretend it’s lying on occasion. I mean let’s be real, I aint ever passing up ice cream, just a little…. However,  I did use lactose-free milk and 100% parmesan cheese (naturally lactose free- fun fact of the day!) for this recipe, but you certainly don’t have to.

You can also use regular bacon. Actually, you’d probably have a much more flavorful dish. However, this is what I had on hand. Feel free to swap out the green beans for another veggie if you like, but I’d recommend keeping the tomatoes- simple because I think they look so fun when they are roasted and deflated.

pasat1

Point being, as always, modify to your liking, this is simply what I did.

This recipe makes 2 large servings and even though it sounds fancy with it’s “White wine sauce”, it took about 45 minutes start to finish.

Throw this baby together on a weeknight and watch the jaws drop.

pasta-2

Chicken-Bacon Pasta With Roasted Veggies & A White Wine Sauce

Yield: 2 servings

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes
  • 1 cup green beans
  • 1 cup pasta, dry
  • 3 slices bacon (I used Turkey)
  • ½ lb chicken breast
  • 1 tbsp Butter
  • 1 garlic clove, finely chopped
  • ½ cup white wine (I used a Chardonnay)
  • 1/3 cup milk (I used lactose free)
  • 1 tbsp & 1 tsp Parmesan Cheese
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Place cherry tomatoes and green beans on a cooking sheet sprayed lightly with cooking spray, salt and pepper to taste. Cook for 15-20 minutes, until tomatoes are soft.
  3. Prepare pasta according to package directions.
  4. While veggies are cooking, cook bacon in a large skillet.
  5. Once crisp, remove and pat off oil with paper towel. Do not wash the pan!
  6. Pound chicken with a meat tenderizer until ½-3/4 inch thickness
  7. Cook chicken in the same skillet as the bacon. This will take about 3-5 minutes per side. Remove from pan when finished. Do not wash pan.
  8. Next, add butter to pan used to cook bacon and chicken. Once melted add garlic and allow to cook for 1-2 minutes, it will be very aromatic.
  9. Next, add wine, milk and cheese. Allow to reduce by about half.
  10. Once thickened, add in dried thyme and salt and pepper to taste.
  11. Now, add bacon, chicken and veggies to drained pasta noodles. Coat with wine sauce.
  12. Mix it up nice and good and serve warm!

Nutrition Information Per ½ Recipe: 450 calories, 12g fat, 37g carbohydrate, 34g protein

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

