Entree · Exercise · Under 500 calories

Dutch Oven Cornish Hen Meal

If you follow me on instagram you most likely saw this picture that I posted of my New Years Eve adventures:

beofre-oven

I know, I know, I am a wild child. Whatever.. I am a homebody and I have no shame. Plus I was on-call so I couldn’t get too far.

I have seen these cute little birds at the grocery store and have been wanting to try my hand at cooking one. A fancy last meal for 2016 finally gave me a reason to do it. I was intimidating, I am not going to lie. I was actually prepared to thaw something in the freezer if this didn’t turn out… Luckily, I didn’t have to do that. 

I was so shocked at how simple cooking this little mini bird was, it took next to no effort- seriously. Don’t be intimidated to try your hand at this dish, it’s easy and sure to impress. 

chick1

chick2

I will say too, it was a messy meal, lots of de-boning, but so worth it for a fun meal to shake things up. I’ll definitely be making this again!

Dutch Oven Cornish Hen Meal

Yield: 2 servings

Ingredients

  • 1 cornish game hen
  • 1/2 tsp each:
    • -Garlic powder
    • -Cumin
    • -Paprika
    • -Chili powder
    • -Dried thyme 
  • 1 tsp EVOO (divided)
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 bag frozen veggie of choice

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Lightly grease a dutch oven, set aside.
  2. Thaw hen according to packaged directions.
  3. Combine spices and rub 3/4 of spice blend on the inside cavity of the bird. Rub outside of bird with 1/2 tsp EVOO and rub remaining 1/4 spice mixture on the outside, into the oil. Place bird in the middle of the dutch oven.
  4. Wash, scrub, and largely chop sweet potatoes. In a large bowl toss with remaining 1/2 tsp EVOO and brown sugar. Place on one side of the bird.
  5. On the other side of the bird, place you frozen veggies. 
  6. Bake the dutch oven covered for about 1 hr, and then uncover and cook for an additional 15 minutes. 
  7. Serve!

Nutrition information per serving (1/2 dutch oven contents):480 calories, 17.5g fat, 58g carbs, 23.4g protein

I used this recipe from The Kitchen Whisperer as a base and modified. Fab!

Leave a Reply

