Entree · Poultry · Under 500 calories

Simple Chicken & Veggie Sheet Pan Dinner

Simple dinners are the key to sanity. 

I hear so often “I don’t have time to make dinner” or “I can’t cook”.

Having a healthy, home cooked meal doesn’t mean you have to slave over a stove for an hour or two, or require you to be a Julia Child protege.

This dinner solves both the “I don’t have time” and “I can’t” excuses. 

chicken-3

It also solves the “I am trying to save money” excuse, because when I broke it down, this meal cost me about $4. That’s a healthy, home cooked dinner for 2 people with very large appetites. Now, I don’t know what Big Mac meals are going for these days, but I am pretty sure it’s more than 2 bucks a pop. 

Personally, I don’t always have 45 minutes during the week after work before my “hanger” sets in (The struggle is real). So you can simply bake this on Sunday and re-heat during the week. 

chicken1chicken2

Are there more obstacles you are facing when it comes to getting dinner on the table? Send them my way!

Simple Chicken & Veggie Sheet Pan Dinner

Yield: 2 servings

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes (washed and scrubbed)
  • 2 cups cubed acorn squash
  • 1 bag frozen brussels sprouts
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350, lightly spray a sheet pan with non-stick spray
  2. Slice chicken breasts into 1” strips. Cube sweet potatoes.
  3. Spread chicken, potatoes, squash, and brussels sprouts onto sheet pan. Mixing them together so all items are evenly distributed. 
  4. Drizzle chicken & veggies with 2 tsp olive oil. 
  5. Combine all herbs & spices in a small dish and sprinkle over top.
  6. Cook for ~35-45 minutes, until veggies are tender and chicken is cooked through. 

Nutrition Information Per Serving: 440 calories, 7.5g fat, 47g carbohydrate, 35g protein

Leave a Reply

