Snack · Sweet Treats · Under 200 calories

Oatmeal Energy Bites

Snacks are essential in my life.

They keep me going throughout the day by giving me a boost of energy between meals. I’m all about the smaller, more frequent meals rather than eating 3 large, square meals, which, personally, leave me feeling too full and in a food coma. Plus, they break up the work day, giving me a little something to look forward to at 3 pm, never a bad thing.

This recipe is my go-to for when my cupboards are bare and I am too lazy to go to the store. 
All of the ingredients are staples that I usually have on-hand, so I can whip these together in just a few mintues.

These poppers are the perfect fuel, providing a good mix of complex carb, healthy fats, and protein that will keep your body energized and ready to go.

Another thing that I like about these energy bites is that they each have 118 calories. Why do I like this? Because you can build the perfect snack for your needs by eating 1, 2, 3, etc.

Say I am craving something sweet after lunch, I’ll grab one. If I am gearing up for a run, I’ll take 2-3. If I am packing Joe’s lunch and need to pack on calories, I’ll give 4-5.

Another plus? They basically taste like oatmeal cookie dough. Heaven!

Feel free to adjust the recipe to your liking. You could try adding in dried fruit or rolling in shredded coconut. Mmmmm!

eb2

Oatmeal Energy Bites

Yield: 8 bites

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup natural peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 2 tsp chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp mini chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients in medium sized bowl, mixing until evenly combined
  2. Form ~1 heaping tbsp of the mixture into the shape of a ball
  3. Repeat for entire mixture

Nutrition Information Per Bite: 118 calories, 5.75g fat, 13.6g carbohydrate, 3.2g protein

 eb1

Leave a Reply

