Entree · Poultry · Protein · Under 300 calories

One Pan Bacon & Green Bean Chicken

My mother (Hi Mom!) recently visited for a little girls time. Of course we were out during the day running around, shopping, and what not. When we got back to our house in the evening it was my favorite time of day- Food Time (Which actually could be- and usually is- any time of the day for me) I got to work and had dinner on the table in under 30. The first thing my mom said “That was really fast.”

Quick dinners have just become my normal. Using a skillet VS the oven for meats. Steamer VS roasting veggies. There are so many things you can do to create healthy dishes even when time is of the essence. And I don’t know about your life, but time is ALWAYS of the essence for me.

2

I thought I would share with you a recent dish I made that required one pan. ONE. Quick and few dishes? I’m sold. In Joseph’s words it was very “clean”. This term has no real definition- Did you know that? But yes, I would agree it was healthy- and germ free 😉

1

One Pan Bacon & Green Bean Chicken

Yields: 2 servings

Ingredients

  • 2, 4 oz chicken breasts
  • 4 slices bacon (I used turkey)
  • 2-2.5 cups green beans, washed and snapped
  • 1/4 cup sweet onion, diced
  • 1 cup white mushrooms, sliced
  • ~2 tbsp water or chicken stock
  • 1 large clove garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Using a meat tenderizer, pound chicken until ~1/2″ thick. Season with salt and pepper, set aside
  2. Heat a large pan over medium-high heat and cook bacon until crisp. Place on paper towel, blot, crumble/chop and set aside.
  3. Do NOT wipe the pan with the bacon grease (this is important!). Keeping the pan hot, cook chicken until golden (or 165 degrees). Remove from pan.
  4. Now add green beans, onion, mushrooms, water/stock, and garlic (I used a garlic press) to the pan. Add lid and cook for ~5-7 minutes.
  5. Next, add the chicken to the pan to warm it.
  6. Place chicken breast on a plate, top with veggies, and finally sprinkle with bacon.
  7. Serve warm.

Nutrition Information: 240 calories, 6g fat, 15g carb, 34g protein

*Recipe adapted from SkinnyTaste*

I served mine with a side of rice. I used 1/2 cup dry rice, 1/2 cup chicken stock, and 1/2 cup water. Let me tell you, using stock for half of the water makes ALL the difference. So much flavor.

Let me know what your favorite quick, easy, and healthy dinners are!

 

Leave a Reply

